Gateway National Results

On Sunday, September 15th, the Amateur Players Tour traveled to Gateway National Golf Links in Madison for a make-up date and their 2nd playoff event. Players faced breezy conditions and a long, tough course setup as they tried to take advantage of their last opportunity to better their position heading into the Tour Championship at Annbriar Golf Course September 28-29.

In Division 1, John Todd continued his stellar play, shooting a 5-over 76 to earn a 4-shot victory over Nate McCutcheon. Player of the Year points leader Matt Borgmeyer finished in 3rd with an 81. With the win, Todd inches closer to Borgmeyer and can earn Player of the Year honors with a win at Annbriar.

In Division 2, Steve Hasenfratz bested a loaded field with a 3-over 74 to earn the victory. Marco Tallerico finished in 2nd place with a 75, while Adam Lewis finished in 3rd with a 76. Points Leader Kevin Erxleben and Chris Scoles tied for 4th with a 78. Erxleben holds about 1,000 point lead heading into the tour championship, but anything can happen with 1,600 points going to the winner at Annbriar.

In Division 3, Kyle Shartzer earned his first victory, beating the pressure with a birdie on 17 to cap off a 2-shot win with a 78 over Kenton McWilliams, who finished 2nd with an 80. Doug Simpson finished in 3rd with an 81, while Chad Campbell finished 4th with an 82 and Scott Klassen with 83. In the Points Race, Chad Crawford holds the lead going into the years final event, chased by Klassen and Simpson.

In Division 4, Bryce Vandas returned to the winners circle, earning a 3-shot victory with an 84. Cory Criter finished 2nd with an 87, while Toby Chrzanowski and Jerry Miller tied for 3rd with an 88. In the points race, Vandas’ win vaulted him to a slight edge over Mike Scalera. The Division 4 Player of the Year race is still wide open, with many players still within striking distance of Vandas.

In Division 5, Kyle Hussey earned his first win, shooting a 20-over 91 to earn a one shot victory over Points Leader Dennis Brosenne, who finished in 2nd place with a 92. Stuie Stuart finished in 3rd with a 98. Brosenne’s 2nd place finish continues to expand his lead in the Division 5 Player of the Year race, with Greg Cobourn in 2nd place.

From here, the Amateur Players Tour heads to Annbriar September 28th and 29th for the Tour Championship. The cost is $220, and tee times start at 8am both days.

Matt Minder