St. Clair Country Club

On Monday August 12th, Amateur Players Tour traveled to St. Clair Country Club in Belleville IL. It was a hot and humid day on the historic course. The 18-hole championship golf course was completed in 1927 and has matured into one of the very finest in the area. At 6502 yards from the championship tees, the par 72 course is both challenging and enjoyable for golfers of all skill levels. PGA Touring Professionals Bob Goalby and his nephew Jay Haas both attribute some of their success in competitive golf to skills honed while playing and practicing on this interesting and often difficult venue. The Jay Haas Practice Facility dedicated in 2004 includes a driving range and short-game practice areas. The Pro Shop, completed in 1989 and renovated in 2002 features a large retail area with an extensive selection of golf equipment, clothing, and accessories.

In Division 1, Skip Wilson didn’t let the heat get to him! Wilson had a fantastic day shooting just 3 over-par 75. Brett Newton tailed Wilson by just one stroke shooting 4 over-par 76 for a solid 2nd place finish. John Todd had a great day shooting 5 over-par 77 coming in 3rd.

In Division 2, it came down to a play-off between Kevin Erxleben and Steve Hasenfratz. Hasenfratz was just edged out by Erxleben in the play-off. Erxleben and Hasenfratz both shot 4 over-par 76 in regulation! Following Erxleben and Hasenfratz was Chris Scoles shooting 5 over-par 77.

In Division 3, David Oleksa had a great day shooting 3 over-par 75 for the win. Trailing Oleksa by 4 strokes, Chad Campbell shot 7 over-par 79 to take home 2nd place. Paul Spotanksi had a good day shooting 9 over-par 81 for a 3rd place finish.

In Division 4, we had a three way tie for first between Mike Pittroff, Bryce Vandas, and Cory Criter all shooting 11 over-par 83! After the playoff, Bryce Vandas earned the victory! After the scorecard playoff to determine 2nd & 3rd, Mike Pittroff took down Cory Criter.

In Division 5, Linda Bozada took home the win shooting 18 over-par 90. Following Bozada was point leader Dennis Brosenne shooting 20 over-par 92 for 2nd. Greg Coburn fought until the end and landed in 3rd place shooting 22 over-par 94.

That concludes our regular season! Playoffs start at Gateway National in Madison IL on Sunday, August 25th! NOTE: Everyone is eligible for participating in the playoff events regardless of their point standing.


Winners Circle


division 1: Skip Wilson

Division 2: Kevin Erxleben

Division 3: David Oleska

Divison 4: Bryce Vandas

Divison 5: Linda Bozada

Chris Isom