Lake Forest Country Club Results

On Sunday May 5th, the St. Louis Tour traveled to the beautiful Lake Forest Country Club in Lake St. Louis Mo. Lake Forest has been host to many prestigious tournaments, including a Nike Tour Event and numerous USGA Qualifiers.  Players faced wet conditions, with tight, tree-lined fairways and fast, undulating greens on a beautiful early May Sunday.

In Division 1, Brett Newton and Scott Carl played a great round both shooting a very solid 2-over par 74. After the play-off, Newton earned his second victory of the year (Florissant GC) with a birdie on the first playoff hole, the par-4 10th.  With the victory, Newton takes the lead in the Player of the Year Race, with John Todd in 2nd place.

In Division 2, John Remley of Tower Grove MO carded his first win of the 2019 season. Remley shot a 6-over par 78. Kevin Erxleben followed just one stroke behind to take second shooting a 79. Joe Ortbals came in third shooting 9-over par 81.  With the 2nd place finish, Kevin Erxleben takes the early lead in the Player of the Year race, followed by Chris Turner, Steve Hasenfratz, and Chris Scoles.

In Division 3, 18 holes would not be enough to decide a champion as Tim Mayer and Drew Vandas were each tied with 10-over par 82’s on the difficult Lake Forest layout.  Mayer narrowly missed a birdie putt on the first playoff hole, and Vandas drained a 50-footer on the 2nd playoff hole to extend the playoff to the par-5 3rd which Vandas won to earn his first career victory on the Amateur Players Tour.  Mayer finished 2nd and is off to a strong start in the 2019 campaign with a win at Florissant and 2nd place finish at Lake Forest.  Austin Schaal continued his good play with an 83 to finish 3rd.  With the victory, Drew Vandas moves into 2nd place in the Player of the Year race, trailing leader Scott KlassenHaris Habibovic is in 3rd, followed by Chad Crawford and Doug Simpson.

In Division 4, Bryce Vandas made it back-to-back victories shooting a solid 88 to earn a 2-shot victory over Shawn May (90) of Columbia, MO.  Charles Lane finished in 3rd place with a 92.  With the victory, Bryce Vandas takes the lead in the Player of the Year race, followed closely by Mike ScaleraChuck Easley sits in 3rd place with 2 victories.  Jerry Miller is in 4th following his victory at Railwood Golf Club.  Tod Martin holds onto the 5th position.

In Division 5, Dennis Brosenne earned his 2nd victory of the season (Railwood Golf Club), shooting a 24-over par 96 to beat Dave Parker by 4 shots.  Greg Cobourn and Linda Bozada tied for 3rd, each shooting 102.  Dave Parker (St. Louis, MO) holds onto the lead in the Player of the Year race, followed by Selena Droce.  With the victory, Dennis Brosenne moves into 4th place, while Greg Cobourn’s steady play has put him in 3rd position.

From here, the St. Louis tour moves to one of the top public golf course facilities in the St. Louis area at the Arnold Palmer designed Spencer T. Olin Golf Course on Sunday, May 19th.  Spencer T Olin hosts numerous USGA qualifiers, but most notably a former host of the USGA Amateur Public Links Championship.  Registration ends on Friday, May 10th, so get signed up today!

Winners Circle_Lake Forest.jpg
Matt Minder